Study Anesthesiology in the UK

Studying anesthesia in Britain is rewarding and challenging. Anesthesiologists make up the largest specialized group of physicians in the NHS and their skills are used in all aspects of patient care. They provide care to patients of all age groups and a range of concomitant diseases, working in many different areas of the hospital.

Study Anesthesiology in the UK
Study Anesthesiology in the UK

The first step to becoming an anesthesiologist is to complete five years of undergraduate medical training, followed by two years of foundational training. During the second year of foundation training, interns can apply for postgraduate training in anesthesia. There are two options for post-graduate training.

The first is the direct route through basic training, which takes a total of seven years. The other is an eight-year anesthesia program, which includes two years of the Joint Trunk Acute Care Program (ACCS). The ACCS program covers the specialties of anesthesia, acute medicine (general internist), emergency medicine and intensive care medicine. The anesthesia component of the ACCS program roughly matches the first six months of the primary anesthesia program.

Training Stages

There are four stages of training.

Basic level

This takes two years if it is in the basic training program or three years in the ACCS program.

It includes an introduction to anesthesia which is usually completed within the first three to six months. Interns will need to pass the Initial Competency Assessment (IAC) at the end of this period to demonstrate that they have a basic understanding of anesthesia.

They can then be added to the on-demand rota although the interns will remain under the supervision of a designated consultant. In order to pass the IAC, interns will have to complete a minimum of 19 separate assessments. The Royal College of Anesthesiologists has produced an online guide to support trainees during the first three to six months of training, and includes educational resources and useful documentation. Once IAC trainees are completed they can start working on other modules.

Intermediate Level

This takes two years and trainees enter specialized areas of anesthesia, such as cardiothoracic anesthesia and neuroanaesthesia. Interns may take optional modules in ophthalmic surgery, plastics, burns and vascular surgery. During this stage, interns must pass the final fellowship of the Royal College of Anesthesiologists exam.

This written test is held twice a year in September and March in a number of venues across the UK. It consists of a three-hour multiple-choice exam followed by a three-hour paper with complex answer questions. The 90 multiple-choice questions aim to test realistic knowledge and the composite answer questions aim to test judgment, the ability to prioritize, summarize, and the ability to make an argument clearly and concisely.

The 12 composite answer questions will contain one from each of the mandatory training modules and six general assignments which may include a maximum of one question from the optional training modules. Interns have a maximum of six attempts and the passport is valid for three years.

Higher level

This level of training takes two years and is called post-fellowship training. At least one year in general duties and core modules to be covered should include airway management, perioperative medicine, and apnea and cardiac management. There are also optional modules in Pain Medicine, Ophthalmology, Plastic and Burns, Anesthesia in Developing Countries, Conscious Anesthesia in Dentistry, Military Anesthesia, and Remote and Rural Anesthesia.

Advanced level

This is one year in duration. In order to prepare the intern for counselor practice, learning focuses on building experience in a chosen field and developing skills in leadership, teamwork and management. Interns who wish to train at a third-class referral center may want to specialize in neuroanaesthesia, cardiac anesthesia or pediatric anesthesia. Those who wish to pursue a more general career in a public hospital in the region will complete one year of public duties.

راتب طبيب التخدير في بريطانيا

يتراوح الراتب الأساسي بين 29384 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا و 34.012 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا. بمجرد أن تبدأ تدريبك التخصصي كطبيب تخدير موظف من قبل NHS ، يمكنك أن تتوقع أن تحصل على راتب لا يقل عن 40257 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا ، والذي يمكن أن يرتفع إلى ما بين 84.559 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا و 114.003 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا كمستشار.u003cbru003e

كم سنة دراسة طب التخدير في بريطانيا؟

لتصبح طبيب تخدير ، ستحتاج إلى إكمال: درجة 5 سنوات u003ca href=u0022دراسة الطب في بريطانياu003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e ، معترف بها من قبل المجلس الطبي العام. برنامج تأسيسي لمدة عامين للتدريب العام. ما يصل إلى 8 سنوات من التدريب المتخصص.u003cbru003e

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
0 تعليقات
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments